Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO3.CO.UK > Technical (D4)

D4 battery musings
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
TwoSheds

Scotland 2013 Discovery 4 3.0 TDV6 HSE Auto Sumatra BlackDiscovery 4
D4 battery musings

I posted this on another forum, but wanted to put it here too...

The following post is full of my opinions... But my sources are multiple forum posts, and the following two sites: http://all-about-lead-acid-batteries.capnfatz.com and https://batteryuniversity.com

I am NOT AN EXPERT and anything you do to your car should NOT be based on this post without checking things yourself

Battery thoughts:

This Disco4 is the first car that I have owned with an AGM battery... And since I knew nothing about AGM batteries, I thought I would investigate and share my findings here:

AGM stands for "Absorbent Glass Mat" (or similar depending on what you read).

Prior to AGM, batteries would be 'wet' or 'gel'.

'Wet' is when there are lead and lead oxide plates surrounded by sulphuric acid. Since the plates are not too well supported, they have to be made from a lead alloy so that they are stronger and more able to resist knocks and vibration. Lead alloy is less effective electrically.

'Gel' is pretty much the same as wet, but with a gelling agent introduced in the acid to reduce the chances of spillage.

'AGM' is when the lead and lead oxide plates are separated and supported by a fine glass mat which also holds the acid like a sponge. Because the plates are rather better supported, they can be made from pure(r) lead which is more effective in the battery. An AGM battery is therefore stronger physically (more able to resist knocks etc) and better electrically. Some batteries spiral the lead-glass-lead oxide sandwiches into a drum shape and reflect that with the exterior shape of the battery.