Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO3.CO.UK > Technical (D3)

Fuel pump nightmares
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
pippin

Denmark 2005 Discovery 3 TDV6 SE Auto Barolo BlackDiscovery 3
Fuel pump nightmares

So first of all sorry if this has already been answered, in the wrong place, or a dumb question! I’m going for asking for forgiveness on this one.

So I’m new to the LR world but coming from Alfa’s I thought I had a good pain threshold.

Brought an 05 Disco3 SE 2.7 in December and after Doug a U.K. - Copenhagen round trip all was ok (exception of an auto box fault that would clear on restart)

Engine then cut and diagnostic / fix was to clear out the fuel filter, do a bit of a temp fix to get a working motor in the pump. (Still has autobox fault by the way)

Drive to Denmark, alps and it goes again in Germany. Have to change pump and fuel tank + valve. Good news auto box fault seems to have gone - assumed this was due to something funky with the fuel pump reading other posts

So today same happens again - engine fault warning, engine cuts, starter working but looks like no fuel.

It doesn’t feel right to have torn through a new pump, so I’m guessing there is something up stream that’s causing it electrically.

The only other thing I did notice was there is a hissing sound under acceleration which I assumed would be a hose split but expected it to not cause the car to shut down? The sound comes from the front right footwell

Can anyone one give any pointers or is this just the fun of being a disco owner?!

215k Miles btw[/b]

Post #19121118th Feb 2018 6:55 am
lynalldiscovery

United Kingdom 2006 Discovery 3 TDV6 Metropolis LE Auto Bonatti GreyDiscovery 3

For the hiss search on here for split intercooler hose, not always obvious to see.

Also search for lpfp and you will find some info on the power supply plug corroding, I think its in NSF wheelarch but check on here first.