Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO3.CO.UK > My Discovery 3

I have given up after two years of breakdowns and expense
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 3 123>
phildiver11

2006 Discovery 3 TDV6 S Manual Buckingham BlueDiscovery 3
I have given up after two years of breakdowns and expense

I have owned a Discovery 3 for just over 2 years i will give you a breakdown of the breakdowns over that period. Rear latch broke on the rear split doors with muddy dog in the back. Parking brake failed while on holiday in Dorset. EGR valves both failed. Parking brake failed again while on the motorway rear shoes disintegrated in the hub melting rear disc on nearside. Dualmass flywheel went needing new flywheel, clutch and clutch release bearing. tracking went on front two new tyres and tracking redone . This was over a period of two years it never went off road and was driven mostly around town, it was serviced at the correct intervals. I have been driving for 35 years and have owned many vehicles but this was by far the most unreliable costly vehicle i have ever come across, the last resort was a strange humming sound starting to come from the front axle, yes you guessed it its now gone. On the plus side my local independant garage owner is now on first name terms with me.

I post this with a view of getting opinions of other owners was i unlucky i dont think so look around the forum and you will see hundreds of others that have had all the same faults. I have spent 1000's on the car and to cap it all the car also lost £8000 in depreciation in two years.

Post #9517497th Jul 2012 8:34 pm
nanobot

England 

sorry to hear, out of intertest what year/spec/mileage is it?

Post #9517517th Jul 2012 8:39 pm
Mr Kington

United Kingdom 2005 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Auto Siberian SilverDiscovery 3