DISCO3.CO.UK > Technical (D3)

manual versus command shift
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
levap

Czech Republic 2007 Discovery 3 TDV6 HSE Manual Vienna GreenDiscovery 3
manual versus command shift

Hello all

I am new here but read a lot of already and I would like to ask if somebody compare fuel consumption in manual and in auto with command shift. Razz

Post #7846815th Aug 2006 10:13 am
Ocsid

England 2016 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 Landmark LE Auto Indus SilverDiscovery 4

I have no in-depth experience comparing manual to automatic, however a 2 x 60 mile evaluation with two demonstrators towing my 1700kg caravan over the same course one after the other gave 19.4 mpg manual and 18.6 auto. I used mainly the true auto, not the comand shift facility
I dont think comand shift will make any real difference. The Auto's problem is the slip in its fluid coupling [torque converter]. This has to slip to transmit torque and in doing so wastes energy to heating its oil and thus worsening the fuel consupmtion.
In theory reving the engine, ie holding a gear will reduce this coupling loss however the engine's efficiency reduces at higher rpms thus tending to cancel any gains. I find that 5th gear is better than 6th re fuel consumption; thats before the "enchancement" , I have yet to get sufficient data to know the after effect. It seems to want to get into a higher gear earlier and hold it longer post upgrade.
After evaluating both manual and Auto re towing it was an easy choice for me to go for the Auto despite the use of more fuel.

Post #7847415th Aug 2006 11:17 am
steveho

United Kingdom 

command shift comes into it's own when off roading-wouldn't even consider using during normal driving

Post #7863415th Aug 2006 8:35 pm
Pelyma

England 

There's a voice from the past, where have you been?
 DS3 TDV6 HSE - Silver with Alpaca (old one) Gone
DS3 TDV6 HSE- Silver with Alpaca (new one) Gone
D4 HSE Lux - Montalcino Red Gone
Porsche Cayenne V8 Diesel S