DISCO3.CO.UK > Technical (D3)

TDV6 Coolant level, and coolant loss.
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Ocsid

England 2016 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 Landmark LE Auto Indus SilverDiscovery 4

I am new to this excellently contributed site; I would like please to tap on all that knowledge to explore issues concerning me. [ I am anything but new to Land Rovers though this is first Disco after 21 year love affair with Defenders]

I have two linked queries about the coolant system. I have tried to see if they have been discussed here before but I can’t find answers.
1. I find the level depends on whether you release the filler cap or not prior to checking. I am aware of the info on page 263 of the OH, and the “Cold Fill Range” marked on the expansion tank. Clearly they intend you to “Fill” up to within that range when the system is cold, but how are you supposed to check the level? I find that my level is ½ to ¾” below that mark when the system has cooled down but the filler cap has not been released and can rise on its release back to just within the range. Some fluid is being retained in the header section of this expansion tank until the vacuum is broken. Is this others experience, and how are we supposed to check the level? Surely we should not need to release the cap each time. I have had to top up on two occasions in my 7000 miles, in all I have put in 1.2litres. [2 x 0.6 litre]
2. I can’t keep the cold level to within the “Fill Range”, though if I release the cap as stated above then I can do so for a while. But even so over time I progressively lose coolant until I “chicken out” and top up, needing 0.6 litres to get back to the lower “Fill” level. My last 110 Defender could never keep its coolant at the right level, it just had to eject some to a level where it ran 50 thousands of miles with out further loss. How do others get on or have I a small coolant leak?

Post #316287th Dec 2005 5:47 pm
BN

England 
Re: TDV6 Coolant level, and coolant loss.

Ocsid wrote: