Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO3.CO.UK > Camping, Caravanning and Holidays

Tintent advice
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
blue_manc

United Kingdom 2008 Discovery 3 TDV6 XS Auto Cairns BlueDiscovery 3
Tintent advice

Looking at a new Bailey Pegasus Ancona or scouting around to see what is nearly new with some kit included.

New to caravanning a few questions from the experienced people out there:

- To set up from new for all the essentials (aquaroll etc) how much should we budget?

- We are budgeting around £300 pa for insurance - sound reasonable?

- To awning or not to awning?

- What would be the key considerations for a total newbie to the caravanning world?

Post #82578414th Aug 2011 11:58 pm
bambi

England 

Ho there, £300 for insurance should be about ok, make sure you join one of the main clubs ccc or cc you get better rates on yer insurance, if yer buy new try and get em to through in waste master aquaroll, battery, etc, you will need mirrors and make sure you get a spare tyre ( not always included)

an awning for me is a must have and not a little porch awning either, get a full one but again budget for about 1K for a new one to suit the caravan size.

Or buy a caravan secondhand and more than likely you will get all the stuff and more included.

Post #82579815th Aug 2011 6:00 am
Grunders

2008 Discovery 3 TDV6 XS Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 3

Like Bambi says, if buying from a dealer try and get the essentials thrown in, if buying second hand, look on ebay, there are some almost new full set ups on there where sellers are moving on after the summer hols... A spare wheel is essential... How many vans/trailers have you seen stranded because of no spare....

In regards to awnings, one of the key factors is how long your trips are, if its only a weekend then a porch awning is ideal, they take about 15 mins to set up, whereas a full awning could take upto half a day, and would suit longer breaks.....