DISCO3.CO.UK > My Discovery 3

I needed a comfy seat at my age!
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
Red Stag

United Kingdom 2006 Discovery 3 TDV6 GS Manual Zermatt SilverDiscovery 3
I needed a comfy seat at my age!

Hello to you all out there in D3 land.

I am a really new D3 owner having passed through many, many transformations car wise ... My wife and I have owned (amongst others) three BMW M3's, one BMW M5, two Range Rovers, one Audi quatro, two Land Rover defenders plus many others over the years but I for one am slowing down and Land Rovers have been my fave for many years now.

We live on the edge of Exmoor and I am a wildlife photographer among other things so getting around in the worst of the weather is a must so initially I went for a Defender.

OK its unusual to get snow here in June like 2009 but hey it's the Landy motto "Be prepared Mother"

That snowy beast was my first Defender but by the second one and the passage of 5 years or so I was getting a hunch from being squashed against the door, so much so that I got offered the lead in a Shakespeare play as Richard the 3rd but failed the audition for being too authentic.

So I thought .... ditch the Defenders and use the Range Rover.

No! .... The Wife has nicked it because she can't get her golf clubs into the boot of her Beemer so the BMW is sold and I lose the RR .... Now what?

Here I am hunched and getting more like Victor Meldrew by the hour and still I need a four wheel drive that I won't be scared to take on the moors and park in the ditch .... But it has to be bigger, more comfy and be cheap enough to be an off road camera bag!

On to the internet and "Auto Trader", call the dealer in London and I am now in possession of an 06 D3 at silly money ... it was so silly I was a worried man!

Here it is lurking in a North London street not knowing what was to become of it.