Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO3.CO.UK > Technical (D4)

Possible Oil Overdose
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 2 12>
Bstokemike

United Kingdom 2010 Discovery 4 3.0 TDV6 XS Auto Stornoway GreyDiscovery 4
Possible Oil Overdose

I feel a bit of an idiot on this as I think I may have dropped a clanger!

Just prepping the car for a drive down to the South of France so though I'd stick my head under the bonnet and check my levels.

Lets just say I'm not a mechanical type of bod and looking for brightly coloured things with levels on them is about my limit! Anyway after I had got through the whole wheres the dip stick thing? and gone to the service menu I was totally panicked when the oil level was showing minimum.

Anyway, after a flustered trip to halfords and the parting of fifty quid I dumped about 2 liters in to the engine.

Its only now that I'm reading further that I realise that the engine needs time to stabilise after coming to temperature before it gives you a reading. So I guess I'm asking if anyone out there can tell me if I've dropped a serious clanger here?

The wife is in the car today so I haven't had a chance to recheck the levels yet now that I know the secret. It had a bit of a cough of smoke after I filled it up but seems OK after about 60 miles. It was serviced about 8 weeks ago and had a full oil change then.

Post #13324081st Sep 2014 8:21 am
Robbie

United Kingdom 2013 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Auto Baltic BlueDiscovery 4

Overfilling is really bad so if in doubt you should not be running the engine!

That said the car is equipped with an overfill detector so the absence of the warning does give some hope. Adding 2 litres as a top-up in one go is excessive. It is more correct to add some and recheck the level and, for a D4, it gives the car a chance to tell you the remaining amount that needs to be added.

It is dead easy to suck some oil from the D4 engine via the dedicated suction tube if you have added too much.

Thumbs Up