Advertise on DISCO3.CO.UK
Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO3.CO.UK > Maintenance & Mods (D3)

How/Where: Power cable thru dash to battery?
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
nwoods

United States 2005 LR3 4.0 V6 Petrol Base 5 Seat Auto Chawton WhiteLR3
How/Where: Power cable thru dash to battery?

I have a somewhat embarrassing question to ask. Where/how did you get your power cable through the firewall to the battery???

I have a North American left hand drive LR3. I spent the better part of yesterday evening looking for a way to get my radio power cables to the battery through the firewall.

I pulled off the kick panels, under dash covers, sub covers, etc..., but I cannot find that mythical unused grommet rumored to be on the secondary battery tray side of the vehicle.

I do have a largish grommet to the left of the steering column, but it's got a large wire bundle through it already, and it's fairly well tape sealed from the factory. I can't easily access it from the engine bay due to the brake pump and brake line routing. I would have to say that resealing it once I drove another largish cable through there will be extremely difficult.

So how did you do it? Where are you getting your power from? I found dozens of grounding points on the passenger side kick panel, but no clue what connector bundle might be hot and free from interference for a 2M/70cm HAM radio.

I would love to learn this trick!

Thanks,

NW

Post #27259714th Mar 2008 4:11 pm
sideview

United States 2005 LR3 4.0 V6 Petrol SE Auto Java BlackLR3

Hi Nathan, when we ran the wiring for my lamps we used the grommet by the steering column you mention. Bent a coat hanger, taped the end of the cable to it, and ran it through along the existing wires (didn't cut or unseal)...then pulled it through the rest of the way from the inside.
 I'm not so good at giving advice...may I offer you a sarcastic comment instead?

Haiti Earthquake Relief: Donate Your Frequent Flier Miles