Advertise on DISCO3.CO.UK
Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO3.CO.UK > Maintenance & Mods (D3)

Questions after timing belt/chain fix...
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 1 of 1
wdavison98

United Kingdom 2008 Discovery 3 TDV6 SE Manual Stornoway GreyDiscovery 3
Questions after timing belt/chain fix...

Hi all,

I'm still a newbie to some of this, and nearing the top (hopefully) of a fairly substantial learning curve; all part of the fun though and I'm still smiling which is always a good sign! Apologies this is a fairly long post, but it seemed best to put it all together.

A bit of context... Long story short, I was starting to see signs of oil pump/pressure issues - oil light taking longer to go off when started and engine starting to sound slightly louder etc. So given that it was due a timing belt I decided to do do that and replace the pump at the same time. All went well (bar the locking pin coming out of one of the cams in my previous post), and drove fine for 50 miles or so with all of my previous concerns now resolved. Didn't think any more of it as whilst it was the new style pump it was at least 7-8 years old (that was when the belts were last done by the previous owner) if not the original (an 08 reg. TDV6 D3).