Forum · Gallery · Wiki · Shop · Sponsors
DISCO3.CO.UK > Webasto Fuel Burning Heater

FBH question
Post Reply  Down to end
Page 8 of 38 <123 ... 789 ... 363738>
MCB

England 2005 Discovery 3 TDV6 Base 5 Seat Auto Java BlackDiscovery 3

My FBH also isn't working.

I'm not a techie at all and have read the above a few times. From what I can tell it looks like all I need to do is purchase a USB OBDII lead from the well known auction site - I assume any one (the cheapest) as they all must do the same thing. Download the file from the Webatso website. Plug in lead to car and laptop, run the software and I will then be able to see fault codes and clear them? Start car up and FBH will as long as there isn't a larger problem work?

Is it that easy? For about £15 delivered you can get the lead.

So is it worth a try? And are any of the OBD leads OK? Most mention VAG vehicles and only LR in the main body of the ad. Will they work with the D3?

I assume that I need to get a move on with this as when the temp is above 5c it won't work. Or does this programme also force fire the FBH?

Many thanks if somebody will clarify.

Post #6129662nd Mar 2010 12:16 pm
mattgreen

United Kingdom 2012 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Auto Santorini BlackDiscovery 4

Hi "MCB",

I think you've mostly got it right - the only extra thing you'll need to do, according to IanNP, is modify the OBD connector to plug directly into the data bus on the FBH itself (as opposed to plugging it into the general bus on the car).

I think he said he was going to post some diagrams of the "wiring loom" he made.

"Rannila" posted a link to a Webasto heater test lead which looks like 3 bare wires and a OBD plug. I guess you could buy this lead and poke the bare ends into the relevant socket on the FBH.

Matt

Post #6129942nd Mar 2010 12:53 pm
IanNP

United Kingdom 2016 Discovery 4 3.0 SDV6 HSE Lux Auto Corris GreyDiscovery 4

So far so good.